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HELPFUL HINTS and SUGGESTIONS 
 

 File a DR-405 return by April 1st. You must 
file timely in order to qualify for the 
$25,000 TPP Exemption. 

 Visit www.manateepao.gov to file 
electronically. Answer questions 1-10 (if 
applicable), and sign and date the 
return. All questions must be completed 
or your return may be classified as  
incomplete. 

 Work with your accountant to identify 
equipment that has stayed the same, 
changed, removed or sold. 

 If you have an asset listing or 
depreciation schedule identifying each 
piece of equipment, attach it to your 
completed return. 

 It is to your advantage to provide a 
breakdown of assets and leasehold 
improvements since depreciation on 
each item varies. 

 Report any changes to your business such 
as location and/or mailing address 
change by submitting a completed TPP 
Change of Information Form to our office. 

IMPORTANT DATES to REMEMBER 

January 1st • Date of Assessment 

• DR-405 is Made
Available on Our
Website

April 1st • Last Day to E-file a
Request for 30-Day
Extension of Filing

• Last Day to Timely File
Your Tangible
Personal Property Tax
Return

August Notice of Proposed   
Property Taxes (TRIM) is 
Mailed  

September Deadline to File a Petition 
with Manatee County 
Value Adjustment Board 
(Actual date is specified 
on TRIM) 

November Tax Bills Mailed by 
Manatee County Tax 
Collector 
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Tangible Personal Property (TPP) is 
everything other than real estate 
that is used in a business or rental 
property. TPP includes: 

 

• Furniture and Fixtures (including furniture 
used in model homes and short-term  
rental such as Airbnb and Vrbo) 

• Computer Equipment 
• Machinery and Equipment 
• Signs and Billboards 
• Leased Equipment 
• Leasehold Improvements 

 

 

 

 
• Any equipment utilized in the operation 

of a business including personally 
owned 
 

Who must file a TPP tax return (DR-
405)? 

 

Every business is required to file an initial 
return with the Property Appraiser, per  
Section 193.052 of the Florida Statutes. 

If you file your DR-405 by April 1st, you will 
be eligible for a property tax exemption up 
to $25,000 of the assessed value. 

After the initial year of timely filing, if the 
Property Appraiser determines that the  
assessed value of your personal property is 
less than $25,000, filing in the following year 
is waived. 

How can I file a TPP Tax Return? 
 

Electronically submit a DR-405 through our 
website under the E-File Options. You will 
need your TPP Parcel # and unique BOV 
(Business Ownership Verification) Code. 
 
If you choose to submit a DR-405 by mail, 
the following TPP forms listed below are 
available on our website.  
• TPP Tax Return (DR-405) 
• TPP Tax Return Instructions 
• TPP Agent Authorization 
• TPP 30 Day Extension Request 

(Electronically) 
 
*The MCPA DR-405 is a Florida Department 
of Revenue (DOR) approved Tangible Tax 
Return specific for Manatee County. 
 
What if I closed or sold my business? 

 

Submit the completed TPP Change of    
Information Form and/or a DR-405 if      
applicable.  
 
The assessment date is January 1st. If you 
were in business or the owner of record as 
of January 1st, you are required to submit a 
DR-405. Our office will update our records 
accordingly for the following tax year. 
 
What if I purchased an existing   
business? 
 

If you purchased a business within the year, 
you may be responsible for personal   
property taxes. Refer to the closing      
documents or consult your representative 
or attorney. 

You will be required to file a  DR-405 by 
April 1st of the following year. 

How can I request a 30-Day        
Extension? 
 

Electronically submit a 30-day extension by 
g o i n g  t o  o u r  w e b s i t e : 
www.manateepao.gov. Locate your    
business by your Parcel # or your business 
name. 
 
If you do not have an existing account 
send your request via email to 
tpp@manateepao.gov with subject line 30-
day Extension Request. 
 
What if I don’t agree with the       
assessed value that appears on my 
TRIM? 

Contact the Property Appraiser’s office to 
discuss the matter with a TPP Team     
Member. If you have evidence that the 
assessed value is more than the fair market 
value of the property, we will welcome the          
opportunity to review your information.   
After speaking with a TPP Team Member 
and you do not agree with the final       
assessment, you may file a petition to be 
heard before the Value Adjustment Board 
on or before the 25th day following the 
mailing of TRIM. 
 

Deadlines and Penalties 
 

The deadline for filing a timely DR-405 is 
April 1st. After April 1st Florida Statutes      
provide that penalties be applied at 5% 
per month or portion of a month that the 
return is late. A 15% penalty is required for         
unreported property, and a 25% penalty if 
no return is filed. 
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