
 
 

 

 

 
       

     
      

      

Dear Taxpayer, 

This brochure provides a brief explanation of the Homestead Exemptions, 
Save Our Homes (SOH) cap, and the portability of the SOH cap that is 
available to Florida residents. Our office accepts Homestead Exemption 
applications throughout the year in person or online, so that you might avoid long lines. 

I encourage you to take advantage of the online homestead exemption application, as well as the 
pre-filing option. Applications and online filing are available on our website at 
www. manateepao.gov. 

As your Property Appraiser, I am charged with the responsibility of assessing all property fairly 
and equitably in accordance with Florida Laws. The Property Appraiser’s office does not set tax 
rates or the amount of taxes you pay. Tax rates are set by the various taxing authorities such as the 
cities, county, school board, and other taxing districts. 

If you have any additional questions or need further assistance, please contact our office. 

Sincerely, 

Charles E. Hackney 
Property Appraiser  

Manatee County Resident Filing Information 

In Person: 
915 4th Ave W 
Downtown Bradenton 
Monday – Friday 

By Mail: 
Exemptions Department 
915 4th Ave W 
Bradenton, FL 34205

Online Information: 
www.manateepao.gov 
Select “File for 
Homestead Online” 

8:30 AM – 5:00 PM 

Report Homestead Exemption Fraud 
If you have information about a person 
claiming a homestead exemption on a 

property that is rented or not the permanent 
residence of the owner, tell us about it. 
Information may be submitted to our 

office anonymously. 

Important Dates 

January 1 Date of assessment 

March 1 Deadline to file for 
an exemption or 
agricultural 
classification for which 
you may qualify 

August TRIM notices mailed 

November Tax bills mailed by the 
Tax Collector 
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What is homestead exemption? 
Homestead exemption is a constitutional 

privilege that reduces the assessed value of 
residential property up to $25,000 for qualified 
permanent residents. 
What is the additional homestead exemption? 

Amendment 1 passed in January 2008 
providing for an additional homestead 
exemption of up to $25,000 to home owners 
whose homes have an assessed value of more 
than $50,000. This additional exemption does 
not apply to the school board millage. 
When may a homeowner apply for homestead 
exemption? 

The legal owner is urged to file as soon as 
they occupy the residence and they have proof 
of Florida residency. The homeowner must 
occupy the property as their primary 
residence and establish permanent Florida 
residency on or before January 1, and apply 
online or in person at the Property Appraiser’s 
office no later than the March 1 deadline of the 
year the exemption is to begin. Our office 
preference is that the owner file the 
application online. However, the homestead 
packet may be printed from our website at 
www.manateepao.gov or mailed to the 
property owner upon request. 
What information is needed to file for the 
property owner’s homestead exemption? 
a) A deed or tax bill in the applicant’s name.
b) All of the following information is to

establish proof of residency on or before
January 1 for all owners who occupy the
property. The information should be
presented in person or filed online with
our office no later than the March 1
deadline:

1) Social security numbers.
2) Florida driver’s licenses or Florida

identification cards for non-drivers.
3) Florida vehicle registration(s) on all

vehicles operated in Florida.
4) Manatee County voter registration cards

for all applicants.
5) Resident Alien Card if not a US Citizen.
6) Copy of the entire trust agreement if

property is held in a trust.
If the applicant does not possess all
these items, contact our office for

further information. Note: Our office 
may request additional information to 
verify an applicant’s eligibility. 

Can a home be rented and still benefit from 
homestead exemption? 

Rental of a primary residence on January 1 
constitutes abandonment of homestead 
exemption. Please contact our office for 
additional information and statutory 
requirements regarding rental of homestead 
property. 
Is a mobile home eligible for homestead 
exemption? 

Yes, if the mobile home and land on which it 
is permanently affixed are both owned by the 
applicant. 

When applying, it is necessary to provide 
the title or registration to the mobile home in 
addition to the residency documentation. 
Does a homeowner have to be a United States 
citizen to qualify? 

Citizenship is not required to file for 
homestead exemption. An applicant who is 
not a U.S. citizen must provide a copy of their 
permanent resident alien card. 
If the homeowner’s spouse is deceased, are they 
eligible for a widow’s or widower’s exemption? 

Yes. If the homeowner is a qualified Florida 
resident, they may apply for the widow’s or 
widower’s exemption. 
When a new residence is purchased, is the 
homestead exemption transferred to the new 
home? 

No. Exemptions are not transferred. For a 
homeowner to receive the exemption on their 
new home, they must qualify and apply either 
online or in person at the Property Appraiser’s 
office by the March 1 deadline. 
If a home is purchased which has a homestead 
exemption, will that exemption continue? 

The new owner will receive the benefit of 
the previous owner’s exemption only for that 
year. The new homeowner must apply online 
or in person by March 1 of the next year to 
continue the exemption. 
What if the property is in a trust? 

It is necessary for the applicant to furnish 
this office with a copy of the entire trust 

agreement. Florida law specifies those 
situations under which the resident may 
obtain homestead exemption. The Florida 
Constitution requires that the homestead 
claimant have legal title or beneficial title in 
equity to the property. 
Are there other tax exemptions? 

Yes. Qualified Florida residents may also 
apply for medical, disabled veterans, total and 
permanent disability, quadriplegic, blind, 
wheelchair confined, disabled first responders, 
widow’s or widower’s and low income senior 
exemptions. Instructions, information and 
forms may be obtained from our website at 
www.manateepao.gov or by calling 
941.748.8208. 
What is the Save Our Homes (SOH)? 

“Save Our Homes” is a Constitutional 
Amendment that was approved by Florida 
voters in 1992. SOH limits, or caps, the annual 
increase in assessed value of property that has 
a homestead exemption. The increase cannot 
exceed the lesser of 3% or the Consumer Price 
Index (CPI) for the previous year. The 
assessed value cannot be greater than the 
market value. 
When does the Save Our Homes cap take effect? 

The base year is the year in which the 
property owner qualifies and receives their 
homestead exemption. Future increases in 
assessed value are then capped at the lesser of 
3% or the CPI. 

When purchasing a new home that is 
benefiting from the SOH cap, it can be 
expected that property taxes will increase the 
next year because the assessed value is 
required to equal the current market value. 
What is “Portability” of the Save Our Homes cap? 

Portability is the transfer of the SOH cap 
savings from an existing Florida homestead to 
a new Florida homestead property. Portability 
will be calculated in the following way: If the 
just value of your new homestead property is 
more than the just value of your old 
homestead, you will be able to transfer the 
SOH cap savings up to the $500,000 limit. If 
the just value of the new homestead is less 
than the value of your old homestead, you will 
be able to transfer a percentage of your cap 
savings to the new homestead up to the 
$500,000 limit. Once you have sold or 

abandoned your homestead property, the law 
allows for the transfer of your benefit for up to 
three (3) consecutive years from your last year 
of homestead. 
Are there any reasons that would cause the cap 
to be removed? 

Yes. If the home is sold or if the homeowner 
no longer qualifies for homestead exemption 
on the property (e.g. the house is rented), the 
exemption and capped value will remain 
effective through December 31. As of January 
1 of the following year, both the exemption 
and the cap will be removed and the assessed 
value restored to the full market value. If the 
new owner is eligible for a homestead 
exemption, the capping process begins at the 
current market value as soon as the new 
owner qualifies for the homestead exemption. 

NOTE: Please remember, the homestead 
exemption is granted only if the homeowner 
qualifies. However, if the homeowner moves, 
the exemption will remain on the property 
through the end of the year before being 
removed. If another home is purchased that 
has an existing homestead exemption, the 
exemption will remain in effect until 
December 31. To maintain a homestead 
exemption on newly acquired property, the 
new owner must apply by March 1 of the year 
following the purchase of the home. This will 
start the SOH cap process for the new owner. 
What about partial exemptions and the cap? 

The cap only applies to the portion of the 
property receiving homestead exemption. For 
example, if a property owner lives in a duplex 
where one side is rented, only half the value 
will receive the cap. Property ownership may 
affect the amount of the cap on the property. 
Since there are many circumstances where a 
partial exemption may apply, we urge the 
property owner to contact the Property 
Appraiser’s office for clarification should the 
property fall into this category. 
What about additions or remodels? 

The value of additions, remodels, etc. will be 
added to the assessed value at the current 
market value. These may be included in the 
cap the following year. 


	Property Tax Savings for Homestead Property
	What is homestead exemption?
	What is the additional homestead exemption?
	When may a homeowner apply for homestead exemption?
	What information is needed to ﬁle for the property owner’s homestead exemption?
	Can a home be rented and still beneﬁt from homestead exemption?
	Is a mobile home eligible for homestead exemption?
	Does a homeowner have to be a United States citizen to qualify?
	If the homeowner’s spouse is deceased, are they eligible for a widow’s or widower’s exemption?
	When a new residence is purchased, is the homestead exemption transferred to the new home?
	If a home is purchased which has a homestead exemption, will that exemption continue?
	What if the property is in a trust?
	Are there other tax exemptions?
	What is the Save Our Homes (SOH)?
	When does the Save Our Homes cap take effect?
	What is “Portability” of the Save Our Homes cap?
	Are there any reasons that would cause the cap to be removed?
	What about partial exemptions and the cap?
	What about additions or remodels?
	Manatee County Resident Filing Information
	Report Homestead Exemption Fraud
	Important Dates




